EIEIOTECHNOVATION
← Training programmes

EIEIO / APPLICATION TRAINING

Microsoft Office InfoPath Designer 2010 Foundation

Course outline

1 day

Course Description

Microsoft Office InfoPath Designer 2010 is the newest version of Microsoft's form creation program. This

Foundation level is intended to help all novice users get up to speed quickly. This course will also help more experienced users who have little to no experience with InfoPath 2007 and/or the ribbon interface. Whether you're using InfoPath Designer for the first time, or have been using it for years, this course will help you make the most of

InfoPath Designer’s new features and interface.

Highlights of the course include complete coverage of the new ribbon-based interface (including customization tasks); a short primer on XML; and a complete walkthrough of creating, saving, printing, and sharing a basic form.

Prerequisites

This manual assumes the user understands the basics of using a Windows-based computer. Students should be comfortable using the keyboard, mouse, and Start menu. Understanding and experience with printing and using a

Web browser is an asset, but not required. No previous experience with other versions of Microsoft InfoPath is necessary.

Section 1: Starting Out

Lesson 1.1: Meeting Microsoft Office InfoPath Designer 2010

What is Microsoft InfoPath 2010?

What’s New in Microsoft Office InfoPath Designer 2010?

An XML Primer

Opening InfoPath Designer

Interface Overview

Interacting with InfoPath Designer

Closing InfoPath Designer

Lesson 1.2: Working with Form Files

Saving Files

Opening Files

Using the Recent List

Switching Between Open Files

Closing Files

Course Outline :: Microsoft Office InfoPath Designer 2010 Foundation ::

Lesson 1.3: Creating a Form

Using the New Form Window

Creating a New Form

Adding a New Table

Adding Text

Adding Controls

Previewing Your Form

Lesson 1.4: Using Basic Editing Tools

Selecting Data

Dragging and Dropping Text

Using Cut, Copy, and Paste

Using Undo and Redo

Using Find and Replace

Lesson 1.5: Adding Controls

Understanding Control Types

Resizing Controls

Moving Controls

Deleting Controls

Using the Control Tools – Properties Tab

Adding a Label

Lesson 1.6: Getting Help in InfoPath Designer 2010

Getting Started with Office.com

Opening Help

Using the Help Screen

Using the Help Toolbar

Searching Help

Using the Table of Contents

Getting Help in a Dialog Box

Section 2: Understanding and Customizing the InfoPath Designer Interface

Lesson 2.1: Getting Acquainted

Using the File Menu (Backstage View)

Using the Mini Toolbar & Using Dialog Boxes

Using Right-Click Menus

Keyboard Shortcuts

Course Outline :: Microsoft Office InfoPath Designer 2010 Foundation ::

Lesson 2.2: The Quick Access Toolbar

About the Toolbar

Adding and Removing Buttons

Moving the Quick Access Toolbar

Customizing the Toolbar

Lesson 2.3: Tabs and Groups

About Tabs

About Groups

About Option Buttons

Minimizing the Ribbon

Lesson 2.4: Customizing the Ribbon

Getting Started

Adding or Removing Tabs

Arranging Tabs and Groups

Creating New Tabs and Groups

Customizing Group Commands

Resetting all Customizations

Section 3: Command Tab Overview

Lesson 3.1: The Home Tab

Clipboard Commands

Format Text Commands

Font Styles Commands

Controls Commands

Rules Commands

Editing Commands

Form Commands

Lesson 3.2: The Insert Tab

Tables Commands

Illustrations Commands

Links Commands

Page Format Commands

Symbols Commands

Course Outline :: Microsoft Office InfoPath Designer 2010 Foundation ::

Lesson 3.3: The Page Design Tab

Views Commands

Page Layouts Commands

Themes Commands

Headers Commands

Lesson 3.4: The Data Tab

Form Data Commands

Get External Data Commands

Submit Form Commands

Rules Commands

Roles Commands

Lesson 3.5: The Developer Tab

Code Commands

Events Commands

Control Events Commands

COM Add-Ins

Section 4: Creating a Basic Form

Lesson 4.1: Using Templates

Using Popular Form Templates

Using Advanced Form Templates

Using InfoPath 2007 Form Templates

Using Template Parts

Lesson 4.2: Getting Started with Tables

Anatomy of a Table

Inserting a New Table

Creating a Custom Table

Using the Table Tools – Layout Tab

Using the Table Properties Dialog

Lesson 4.3: Modifying Tables

Selecting Table Data & Moving Tables

Adding and Deleting Rows and Columns

Resizing Rows, Columns, and Tables

Merging and Splitting Cells

Course Outline :: Microsoft Office InfoPath Designer 2010 Foundation ::

Lesson 4.4: Formatting Tables

Changing Cell Height and Width

Changing Cell Alignment

Changing Cell Padding

Changing Borders and Shading

Section 5: Doing More with Your Form

Lesson 5.1: Formatting Text

Applying Text Effects

Changing Font Face, Size, and Color

Aligning and Justifying Text

Indenting Text

Removing Formatting

Lesson 5.2: Advanced Text Too

Applying Font Styles

Using the Format Painter

Using the Paragraph Task Pane

Creating a Bulleted or Numbered List

Lesson 5.3: Managing Controls with Sections

Creating a Section

Creating an Optional Section

Creating a Scrolling or Horizontal Region

Modifying Sections

Removing Controls from a Section

Deleting Sections

Lesson 5.4: Advanced Control Tasks

Setting a Default Value

Choosing the Data Type

Setting Control Properties

Formatting a Control

Using the Control Properties Dialog

Using the Fields Task Pane

Course Outline :: Microsoft Office InfoPath Designer 2010 Foundation ::

Lesson 5.5: Applying the Finishing Touches

Inserting Page Breaks

Checking Your Spelling

Changing the Theme

Choosing a Page Layout Template

Adding a Header or Footer

Section 6: Publishing and Printing Your Form

Lesson 6.1: About the InfoPath Filler

What is InfoPath Filler?

Opening the Filler

Interface Overview

Completing a Form

Submitting a Form

Lesson 6.2: Setting Global Form Options

Opening the View Properties Dialog

Applying a Background Color or Picture

Changing the Font

Changing the Page Orientation

Modifying Margins

Lesson 6.3: Preparing a Form for Sharing

Understanding Submission Methods

Running the Design Checker

Adding a Submit Button

Configuring the Submit Options

Publishing the Form

Lesson 6.4: Printing Your Form

Print Commands

About Quick Print

Using Print Preview

Setting Print Options

Programme scope, delivery arrangements and suitability are confirmed during enquiry.